The Rulings

 Welcome to a new feature courtesy of Robin Farran.

There will be periodic updates to this page.


Score for the Hole – July 4, 2020 – The Rulings                 

Incident 1

Player A's tee shot comes to rest in a relatively dry area in a red penalty area on a par-4 hole. Player A's second shot ends up in deep water.

Player A measures a two club-length relief area with her driver from where the tee shot crossed the red line and drops a ball from shoulder height in the relief area. The dropped ball rolled into the penalty area as did the next drop, also dropped from shoulder height.

After placing the ball on the spot where the second ball landed, another player intervened and reminded Player A that dropping is from knee height is required in the current Rules.

Player A picked up the ball and dropped another ball from knee height. The dropped ball landed in and came to rest in the relief area. Player A played the ball onto the green and completed the hole in two additional strokes.

**Player A's score is 6.

1s from TA, 1s into deep water, 1p for relief from PA and 3 additional strokes. See Rule 17.2a(1). [Player A corrected her dropping errors and corrected the mistakes – see Rule 14.5a.

 

Incident 2

Player A's tee shot comes to rest in a relatively dry area in a red penalty area on a par-3 hole. Player A's second shot overflies the green and is out of bounds.

Not quite sure what to do, Player A returns to the teeing area, plays his ball onto the green and completes the hole in two additional strokes.

**Player A's score for the hole is 7.

1s from TA, 1s from PA, 1p for stroke-and distance-relief and 1p for relief from PA, plus 3 more strokes. See Rule 17.2b.

 

Incident 3

Player A is taking back-on-the-line relief for her tee shot which was ball unplayable in the general area. Player A selects a reference point on the line and measures the relief area. Part of the relief area was in the general area and part in a bunker.

Concerned that the ball when dropped might roll into the bunker, Player A drops the ball from about a foot above the ground in the general area and the ball rolls and comes to rest in the relief area in the bunker.

Player A plays the ball just short of the green and completes the hole in 3 additional strokes.

**Player A's score for the hole is 8.

1s from TA, 1p for relief for ball unplayable, 2p for play from a wrong place, 1s for stroke to just short of the green, plus 3s to complete the hole.

See Rule 19.2b, Rule 14.3b and Rule 1.3c(4).

 


 

Now What – June 24, 2020 – The Rulings

 

Incident 1

Player A's tee shot lands in the deep rough right of the fairway. Not sure whether he will find the ball, Player A plays a provisional ball that lands in the fairway. Player A finds the original ball after a two-minute search.  

Player A goes out to the fairway to pick up the provisional ball and returns to the rough and again searches for his original ball, requiring an additional two-minutes of search time before the original ball is found.

**Player A's original ball is lost, and he lifted his ball in play. The lifted ball must be replaced on its original spot. Player A gets a penalty of one stroke for lifting his ball in play. Player A will be playing his 5th stroke on the hole.

See Definition of "Lost", Rule 9.4b and Interpretation 18.3c(2)/5.

 

Incident 2

Player A's tee shot lands in bad country right of the fairway. Player A plays a provisional ball that lands in the fairway. After a brief search, Player A sees a ball that is probably his original ball and tells another player in his group to pick up his provisional ball.

Player A discovers that the ball he found was not his original ball and, after searching for three minutes, returns to the area where his provisional ball had come to rest in the fairway.

** Player A's original ball is lost, and he lifted his ball in play. The lifted ball must be replaced on its original spot. Player A gets a penalty of one stroke for authorizing another player to lift his ball in play. Player A will be playing his 5th stroke on the hole.

See Definition of "Lost", Interpretation 18.2a(1)/1 and Rule 1.3c(1).

 

Incident 3

Player A's tee shot heads right toward a cart path and area of vegetation. Player A sees a ball on the cart path, assumes that the ball is his ball, picks up the ball and takes relief.

Player A plays the ball toward the green and, preparing for his 3rd stroke on the hole, discovers that the ball is not the ball played from the teeing area.

**When Player A dropped and played a ball substituted for his original ball (location unknown), Player A proceeded under stroke and distance and played from a wrong place, likely a serious breach, and must correct before the start of the next hole.

Player A must return to the teeing area and will be playing his 5th stroke.

Scoring: In stroke play: tee shot, 1p for stroke and distance, 2p for playing from a wrong place. Loss of hole in match play.

See Rule 14.4, Rules 14.7 and 14.7b(1) and Rules 18.1 and 18.2.

 


 

OK or Not OK – June 14, 2020 – The Rulings

 

Incidents are all individual stroke play:

Incident 1

On the practice putting green, moments before his starting time, Player A discovers he has an extra putter he borrowed from the pro shop and has 15 clubs in his bag. Player A turns the club upside down in his golf bag, heads to the starting tee and, without any comments about the extra club to anyone, begins the round.

 

At Scoring, Player A explains his actions to the Scoring Official.

 

**OK. Player A has proceeded correctly – see Rule 4.1c(2). Player A must not use the club to make a stroke and the club does not count towards the 14-club limit.

 

Incident 2

During the 3rd hole of the round, Player A discovers he has 16 clubs, including 2 extra wedges borrowed from the pro shop. Player A turns the two clubs upside down in his golf bag and continues the round without any comments to anyone about the extra clubs.

 

At Scoring, Player A explains his actions to the Scoring Official.

 

**Not OK. Player A gets a penalty of two strokes on the 1st and 2nd holes and properly took the two clubs out of play – see penalty statement for Rule 4.1b and Rule 4.1c(1).

 

Incident 3

 

On the 5th hole, Player A's shot hits the sharp edge of a concrete wall resulting in a crack in the ball. Player A correctly substitutes another ball and completes the hole. Later in the round, Player A drops the damaged ball in taking relief from a cart path and plays the ball onto the putting green.

After marking and lifting his ball, Player A sees the crack in the ball, replaces another ball on the putting green and completes the hole.

**Player A proceeded correctly on the 5th hole as he was permitted to substitute another ball for a ball damaged during the hole being played – see Rule 4.2c(2).

Later during the round, when Player A substituted another ball for the cracked ball, Player A gets a penalty of two strokes since substitution for a damaged ball is only permitted during the hole when the damage occurs.

 

Incident 4

During the 18th hole of the round, Player A discovers that he had a weighted club, non-conforming, in his bag. Including the weighted club, which was not used in the round, Player A had 14 clubs in his bag.

 

**Player A gets no penalty for carrying a non-conforming club as long as the club is not used in making a stroke or used as a swing aid in a practice swing – see Rule 4.1a(1) and Rule 4.3a(6). [The non-conforming club counts as one of Player A's 14 clubs.]



 

Any Penalties – June 5, 2020 – The Rulings

Incident 1  

Player A's ball comes to rest against a bunker rake on a sloped area of turf. Player A marked and lifted the ball, removed the rake and replaced the ball on its original spot. After removing the tee used to mark the position of the ball, Player A completed the hole.

**Player A gets a penalty of one stroke for lifting a ball in play without authorization by a Rule – see Rule 9.4b. Otherwise, Player A proceeded correctly – see Rule 15.2a(1).

Incident 2  

Player A's ball comes to rest against a bunker rake on a sloped area in a bunker. When Player A removed the rake, the ball rolled down the sand to a flat area in the bunker. Player A played the ball from its new location.

**Player A gets the general penalty for playing from a wrong place.

Rule 15.2a(1) requires the ball to be replaced.

Incident 3  

Player A's ball comes to rest against a bunker rake on a sloped area in a bunker. When  Player A removed the rake, the ball rolled several feet. Player A, after several attempts to replace the ball on its original estimated spot, found a spot in the bunker, not nearer the hole, and close to the original estimated spot where the ball would remain at rest, placed the ball on the spot and completed play of the hole.

**Player A proceeded correctly in finding the nearest point, not nearer the hole where the ball would stay at rest – see Rule 14.2e.

Incident 4  

Player A's ball comes to rest against a bunker rake on a sloped area in a bunker. When Player A removed the rake, the ball rolled several feet. Player A, after several unsuccessful attempts to replace the ball and have it stay on its original estimated spot, pressed the ball into the sand on the estimated spot and played the ball.

**Player A gets the general penalty. Player A was required to find a spot in the bunker, not nearer the hole, where the ball would stay at rest – see Rule 14.2e.

When Player A pushed the ball into the sand, Player A created an indentation in the surface, a breach of Rule 8.1a(3). When the ball was played from the indentation in the bunker, Player A played from a wrong place as the "spot" included vertical distance - see Interpretation 8.2b/1


 

Any Penalties - May 27, 2020 – The Rulings

 

Incident 1  

Player A's ball comes to rest on a towel in a bunker. Player A picked up the ball and removed the towel. Player A dropped another ball from knee height on a spot in the bunker about two feet behind the estimated spot under where the ball had come to rest on the towel and played the ball.

**Player A proceeded correctly. Rule 15.2a(2) requires the original ball or another ball to be dropped in the relief area.

 

Incident 2  

Player A's ball comes to rest on a towel in a bunker. Player A picked up the ball and removed the towel. Player A placed the ball in the bunker on the estimated spot directly under where the ball had come to rest on the towel and played the ball.

**Player A gets the general penalty for placing the ball when Rule 15.2(2) required the ball to be dropped in the relief area.

When a ball is placed when required to be dropped, the player gets the general penalty – see Rule 14.3b(3).

 

Incident 3  

Player A's ball comes to rest on a towel on the putting green. Player A picked up the ball and placed another ball on the estimated spot on the putting green directly under where the original ball had come to rest on the towel and completed play of the hole.

**Player A proceeded correctly in placing the original ball or another ball on the spot directly under where the original ball lay on the towel – see Rule 15.2a(3).

 

Incident 4  

Player A's ball comes to rest against a golf club left in a penalty area by a player in a previous group. The removal of the club by Player A causes the ball to move. Player A cleans the ball, replaces the ball on the estimated spot and plays the ball.

**Player A was permitted to remove the club and replace the ball without penalty, and the ball may be cleaned – see Rule 15.2a and Rule 14.1c.

 


 

Any Penalties – May 18, 2020 – The Rulings

Incident 1

Player A's ball comes to rest on the putting green near a large cricket. As Player A brushes the cricket away from the ball, his hand moves the ball. Player A replaces the ball on the estimated spot.

**Player A has proceeded correctly without penalty.

When a ball is on a putting green, there is no penalty for moving a ball in play when removing a loose impediment, Rule 15.1 Exception 1, or for accidently moving the ball, Rule 9.4b Exception 3.

 

Incident 2

Player A's ball comes to rest in the fairway near a large cricket. As Player A brushes the cricket away from the ball, his hand moves the ball. Player A replaces the ball on the estimated spot.

**Player A gets one penalty stroke for moving his ball in play – see Rule 9.4b. As required by Rule 9.4b, Player A replaced the ball.

 

Incident 3

Player A's ball comes to rest on the putting green on top of a large leaf. Player A removes the leaf, without marking the position of the ball, causing the ball to move.

Player A discards the leaf, cleans the ball, and replaces the ball on the estimated spot.

**Player A has proceeded correctly without penalty.

When a ball is on the putting green, there is no penalty for moving a ball in play when removing a loose impediment, Rule 15.1, or for accidentally moving the ball, Rule 9.4 Exception 3. Additionally, the ball may be cleaned, Rule 13.1b , and the loose impediment is not required to be replaced, Rule 15.1a Exception 1.

 

Incident 4

Player A's ball comes to rest in the fairway on top of a large leaf. Player A removes the leaf, causing the ball to move.

Player A discards the leaf and replaces the ball on the estimated spot.

**Player A gets a penalty of one stroke. Player A moved  his ball in play, Rule 9.4b, and removed a loose impediment prior to replacing the ball, Rule 15.1a Exception 1.

Since the two acts are related, player A gets one penalty stroke – see Rule 1.3c(4)